Operation Frog Effect (Paperback)

Operation Frog Effect Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
Warehouse - Aurora
On hand as of Nov 25 3:40pm
(BATT)

Description


If one small act can create a ripple across the universe . . . what happens when a whole group of kids join together and act?

Told in eight perspectives--including one in graphic novel form--Operation Frog Effect is perfect for fans of Andrew Clements, Rob Buyea, and Sarah Weeks, and for anyone who wants to make a difference.


Hi--
It's us, Ms. Graham's class. We didn't mean to mess things up. But we did. We took things too far, and now Ms. Graham is in trouble--for something we did. We made a mistake. The question is, can we fix it? Ms. Graham taught us that we get to choose the kind of people we want to be and that a single act can create ripples. So get ready, world--we're about to make some ripples.
Sincerely,
Kayley, Kai, Henry, Aviva, Cecilia, Blake, Sharon, Emily (and Kermit, class frog)
 
Everyone makes mistakes. But what happens when your mistake hurts someone else? Told in eight perspectives--including one in graphic novel form, Operation Frog Effect celebrates standing up and standing together, and tells the unforgettable story of how eight very different kids take responsibility for their actions and unite for a cause they all believe in.

"A heartfelt novel with complex characters who realize that to promote change in the world, they first have to change how they see each other."--John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby's Last Day

About the Author


Sarah Scheerger is a clinical social worker who works in schools with at-risk kids, helping them figure out who they are and who they want to be. Operation Frog Effect is her was inspired by her own fourth-grade teacher. Visit her at sarahlynnbooks.com and on Twitter at @sarahscheerger.

Praise For…


Here's what people are saying about Operation Frog Effect:

A Sunshine State Young Readers Award Nominee 2020-2021
A Maryland Black-Eyed Susan Award Nominee 2020-2021
A 2021-2022 Louisiana Young Readers Choice Award Nominated Title



"Eight fifth-graders actively tackle both personal relationships and social issues in this epistolary tale. Scheerger does an expert job throughout. Moreover, the author infuses her story in nonpreachy ways with themes of kindness, respect for others, and the importance of acting responsibly, capped by a list of helpful web resources." —Booklist

"Inspired by their radical teacher, eight elementary school students speak up for what they believe in and make change in their school community. In Scheerger's middle-grade debut, she tackles issues of friendship, bullying, immigration, women's rights, access to education, and homelessness/poverty. Her characters are genuine and complex as they grow and change. A thoughtful exploration of the power of the collective voice--growing up is owning up and speaking up. " —Kirkus Review

"Ms. Graham might be my all-time favorite teacher in a middle grade novel. Kids are going to love this." —Colby Sharp, teacher, blogger and co-founder of The Nerdy Book Club

"Operation Frog Effect is like The Breakfast Club for middle schoolers. It'll make you laugh, cheer, and strive to be a better person." —Shannon Hitchcock, author of Ruby Lee & Me and One True Way

"A perfect middle-grade read with characters you will cheer for." —Donna Gephart, author of Lily and Dunkin

"Eight unforgettable fifth graders, one remarkable young teacher. Once in a while you find a book that feels like a giftOperation Frog Effect is one of those books." —Valerie Hobbs, author of Sheep
Product Details
ISBN: 9780525644156
ISBN-10: 0525644156
Publisher: Yearling
Publication Date: February 18th, 2020
Pages: 320