Strike the Zither: The Kingdom of Three Duology, Book One (Hardcover)

Strike the Zither: The Kingdom of Three Duology, Book One By Joan He Cover Image
By Joan He
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Warehouse - Aurora
On hand as of Jul 10 2:37pm
(AUTO)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Kingdom of Three series.

Description


A dazzling new fantasy from New York Times and Indie bestselling author Joan He, full of secrets and betrayal, Strike the Zither is an inventive and sweeping fantasy perfect for fans of Rebecca Ross and Chloe Gong, “rich in intrigue and epic in scale.”
Orphaned at a young age, Zephyr took control of her fate by becoming the realm’s most powerful strategist, serving under a leader whose cause jeopardizes their survival in a war where one must betray or be betrayed.

When Zephyr is forced to infiltrate an enemy camp, she encounters the enigmatic Crow, the only strategist who has ever rivaled Zephyr’s talent. But mastermind though Crow may be, he is no match for Zephyr. She will defy the heavens to win and no one—neither human nor god—can stop her.

Featuring gorgeous map art and black-and-white portraits, Strike the Zither is the first book in Joan He's riveting Kingdom of Three duology that explores human greed and ambition in a war-torn world. Don't miss the epic conclusion in Sound the Gong!

About the Author


Joan He was born and raised in Philadelphia but still, on occasion, loses her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories are her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and now writes from Chicago. She is the bestselling author of The Kingdom of Three duology, The Ones We're Meant to Find, and Descendant of the Crane, her young adult debut novel.

Praise For…


"A fierce reimagining of the Chinese classic... Full of twists and surprises that shock and delight, building up to the epic conclusion that left me gasping." - Judy I. Lin, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Book of Tea duology"

“A brilliant exploration of destiny and identity!” - Xiran Jay Zhao, New York Times-bestselling author of Iron Widow

"Rich with intrigue and epic in scale. Strike the Zither grows tall on the heroic classics it draws from, yet beats powerfully with a heart of its own." - Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the These Violet Delights Duet

"A riveting series opener." Kirkus, starred review

"Powerful, action-packed prose, quick pacing, anticipatory atmosphere, and immersive worldbuilding exemplify the origins of the source material while developing a distinct and evocative adventure." Publishers Weekly, starred review

"An intricate, expansive epic...this book is as ambitious as its scheming, ruthless cast—and just like its narrator, delivers above and beyond." - Margaret Owen, author of The Merciful Crow series and Little Thieves

"Filled with twists and turns... A meticulously plotted, supremely satisfying story that explores identity, legacy, and loyalty in unexpected ways." - Hannah Whitten, New York Times-bestselling author of For the Wolf

"A page-turner, full of unexpected twists, with an expansive, intricate world of sisterhood and subterfuge... A standout work from a remarkable author." - Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six

"Richly layered and highly creative... A truly magnificent book." - June Hur, bestselling author of The Red Palace

"In this tautly plotted, vividly reimagined tale of a beloved Chinese classic, He orchestrates an epic page-turner... STRIKE THE ZITHER will keep you guessing—and gasping for more." - June CL Tan, internationally bestselling author of Jade Fire Gold

"This soaring, masterful retelling becomes an epic all of its own... Readers will get lost in this rich, gorgeous, and dangerous world." Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

"A twisty, body-snatching, gender-flipped retelling of The Romance of the Three Kingdoms. Prepare to be transported." Rebecca Lim, award-winning author of Tiger Daughter

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250258588
ISBN-10: 1250258588
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: October 25th, 2022
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Kingdom of Three