Stars in Their Eyes: A Graphic Novel (Paperback)

Stars in Their Eyes: A Graphic Novel By Jessica Walton (Created by), Aska (Created by) Cover Image
By Jessica Walton (Created by), Aska (Created by)
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now
Warehouse - Aurora
On hand as of Sep 29 5:03pm
(GRPH)

Description


In this lighthearted YA romance, Maisie and Ollie discover that nothing beats the feeling of falling in love for the first time.

Maisie is on her way to Fancon! She's looking forward to meeting her idol, Kara Bufano, the action hero from her favorite TV show, who has a lower-leg amputation, just like Maisie. But when Maisie and her mom arrive at the convention center, she is stopped in her tracks by Ollie, a cute volunteer working the show. They are kind, charming, and geek out about nerd culture just as much as Maisie does. And as the day wears on, Maisie notices feelings for Ollie that she's never had before. Is this what it feels like to fall in love?

Perfect for fans of Heartstopper and Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, this graphic novel debut is a fresh, one-of-a-kind story that celebrates the excitement of meeting someone special for the first time.

About the Author


Jessica Walton is a queer, disabled writer and speaker. They co-wrote an episode of Australian comedy series Get Krack!n that focused on disability, and they are also the author of Introducing Teddy, a picture book illustrated by Dougal MacPherson. Jess's short stories have been published in Australian anthologies Funny Bones and Meet Me at the Intersection, and their poetry can be found in Growing Up Disabled in Australia and The (Other) F Word: a Celebration of the Fat and Fierce. To learn more about Jess, visit them at jessicawalton.com.au.

Aśka is creative dynamite. She's an award-winning artist and graphic novelist, an ex-quantum physicist, and a big fan of the little doohickey above the s in her name (which is pronounced "Ash-ka"). A hugely engaging and popular presenter, Aśka is passionate about visual literacy and has published more than ten books and graphic novels. When she's not creating children's books, Aśka is traveling across Western Australia as a roving science communicator. Sometimes, she sleeps. For more on Aśka's passions, projects, and art, check out askastorytelling.com.

Praise For…


★ "A prevailing sense of optimism that highlights the power of inclusivity and representation in popular media, delivering an unforgettable experience." Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ "A delightful, sweet graphic novel that sweeps readers up... Winsome art combined with Walton's joyful, charming story creates a celebration of identity, community, and love." -- Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Cheerful and empowering." -- Kirkus Reviews

"A captivating graphic novel with a beautiful art style, a diverse and inclusive cast and a fluffy like-at-first-sight romance that will have fans miss conventions and meet cutes to boot." -- Nerd Daily

"Give me all the nerdiness, all the love, and all the cracking visuals." -- AU Review

"A very necessary story, representing the various ways we love each other and the diversity of the bodies we inhabit. As storytellers, Jessica Walton and Aśka invite us to see that it's our daily interactions, and our ways of communicating with each other, that will create a more accessible future." -- Reading Time

"A quick insight and journey of empathy." -- ReadPlus

"Disability rep is still far too rare in YA, and I am just so glad that Stars in Their Eyes exists for teens (and adults!) who still haven't been able to see themselves and their experiences in the media they consume." -- Delicate Eternity

"A great exploration of disability and identity, with a particular focus on representation in media, ableism, and accessibility." -- ALIA

Product Details
ISBN: 9781338818796
ISBN-10: 1338818791
Publisher: Graphix
Publication Date: August 1st, 2023
Pages: 224
Language: English