The Bookshop Girl (Paperback)

The Bookshop Girl Cover Image
By Sylvia Bishop, Poly Bernatene (Illustrator)
$8.99
On Our Shelves Now
Warehouse - Aurora
On hand as of Jul 19 3:18pm
(PBF)

Description


A plucky young heroine hides a secret while trying to save her family and their magical bookstore from a dastardly villain in this whimsical middle grade novel.

"A funny, inventive tale ideal for booklovers." ―Booklist

Property Jones and her family have just won the Great Montgomery Book Emporium in a contest, and it's every booklover's dream The pull of a lever calls forth rooms full of marvelous wonders―from the Room of Woodland Tales with its squirrels and mice, to the rocket ship in the Room of Space Adventures, and the aquarium ceiling in the Room of Ocean Tales.

But there is more to the Emporium than its thousands of books in extravagant displays. In fact, the previous owner is hiding something that could destroy absolutely everything for the Joneses. Property has a whopper of a secret too―and it might just be the key to saving her family and their bookshop from the clutches of a nasty villain.

Sylvia Bishop's fantastical debut explores themes of family, identity, and mystery while weaving an entertaining tale filled with quirky, memorable characters. Perfect for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events. Available in eBook.

Awards:

Best Children's Books of the Year ―Bank Street College of Education
Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Reading List (Intermediate) ―Kansas National Education Association
Alabama Camellia Award (Nominee, Grades 4-5 Fiction) ―Alabama Department of Education
Delaware Diamonds Award (Nominee, Grades 3-5) ―Diamond State Reading Association

Product Details
ISBN: 9781682631997
ISBN-10: 1682631990
Publisher: Peachtree Publishing Company
Publication Date: August 1st, 2020
Pages: 144
Language: English